Residency & Education


The University of Arizona College of Medicine was established in 1967 and graduated its first medical school class in 1971.  At its inception, Radiation Oncology was a division of radiology and Dr. Mac Boone was the division head. Dr. Boone was succeeded by Dr. Robert Heusinkveld.  The Department was established in 1985 with Dr. J. Robert Cassady as the first Chairman of the department and he was succeeded by Dr. James Oleson in 1996.  Dr. Baldassarre Stea was named chairman in 2003. 

The medical residency program in Radiation Oncology was established in 1977 and since that time has graduated 70 radiation oncologists who have gone on both academic and private practice careers.  





GME-Diversity, Equity & Inclusion